Start Planning

Slovenia Public Holidays 2017

Today – 18 November 2017 – is not a holiday in Slovenia.

This page contains a national calendar of all 2017 public holidays for Slovenia. These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates.

1 JanSunNew Year's Day
2 JanMonNew Year Holiday
8 FebWedPrešeren Day
16 AprSunEaster Sunday
17 AprMonEaster Monday
27 AprThuResistance Day
1 MayMonMay Day
2 MayTueMay Day Holiday
4 JunSunWhit Sunday
25 JunSunNational Day
15 AugTueAssumption Day
31 OctTueReformation Day
1 NovWedAll Saints' Day
25 DecMonChristmas Day
26 DecTueIndependence and Unity Day

Slovenia recognizes two types of public holidays. These include state holidays and work-free days, which are regulated by the government.

State holidays generally include official functions involving a display of national flags on public and privately-owned buildings.

Work-free days include Catholic religious observances, usually held on Sundays. Although the majority of businesses are closed on Sundays, religious observances are generally regarded as celebrations.

According to current Slovenian labour laws, employees are entitled to 11 paid state holidays and four work-free days, for a total of 15 paid work-free days per calendar year.

Visit for the original release.

Most viewed Slovenia holidays today: