Start Planning
Bosnia and Herzegovina

Bosnia and Herzegovina Public Holidays

Discover upcoming public holiday dates for Bosnia and Herzegovina and start planning to make the most of your time off.

National holidays are governed by the Law on Public Holidays of the Republic of Bosnia and Herzegovina and the Labor Laws of Bosnia and Herzegovina. Bosnia is also attempting to comply with the European Social Charter for employment actions.

The Law on Public Holidays has established two national holidays celebrated in each region of the country. The other 16 national holidays celebrated in this country are set up on a regional basis.

A majority of these holidays are based on religious beliefs. Bosnia has three major religions that are practiced within the country: Orthodox Christians, Christians and Muslims. Each of these religious sects lives in a different region and has different holidays.

The government has provided that each of these regions and religions are entitled to their own holidays, without the entire country celebrating each event.

Previous Years