Start Planning

Macedonia Public Holidays 2017

Today – 18 December 2017 – is not a holiday in Macedonia.

This page contains a national calendar of all 2017 public holidays for Macedonia. These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates.

1 JanSunNew Year's Day
2 JanMonNew Year Holiday
7 JanSatOrthodox Christmas Day
17 AprMonOrthodox Easter Monday
1 MayMonLabour Day
24 MayWedSt Cyril and St Methodius Day
25 JunSunRamazan Bajram
26 JunMonRamazan Bajram Holiday
2 AugWedIlinden Day
8 SepFriIndependence Day
11 OctWedRevolution Day
23 OctMonDay of the Macedonian Revolution
8 DecFriSaint Clement of Ohrid Day

Macedonia has 13 public holidays that are celebrated each year. A majority of the holidays are based on the Orthodox Christian faith, and these dates of celebration are different than in many other areas of the world.

Holidays in Macedonia are regulated by “The Law on Holidays in the Republic of Macedonia, 2007.” These laws determine the 13 public holidays, established the first nationally recognised Muslim holiday, and gave the government the authority to add one-time non-working holidays each year if they are officially published.

Holidays that occur on a weekend are often moved to the following work day to extend their celebration. In many cases, the government will announce just a few days before the weekend holiday that the date has been changed. Businesses are required to observe the new dates.

Many of the holidays in Macedonia are celebrated with “Eve” celebrations or an extra day following the holiday. Eve celebrations are traditional and not required by law. If a second day is added to the public holiday, a national announcement will be made prior to the holiday occurring.

Most viewed Macedonia holidays today: